Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
12th Annual UL Alumni Awards
Share |


Mr David Jeffreys

- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award  - Entrepreneurship

Mr John Savage
- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award - Entrepreneurship

Ms Clodagh Cavanagh
- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award - Business

Mr Tim Kenny
- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award - Society

The University of Limerick Alumni has bestowed its highest honour on four of the University’s outstanding graduates at the 12th Annual UL Alumni Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday, 11 November.

This annual event celebrates the outstanding achievements of Graduates of the University of Limerick and this year is no exception with four UL alumni honoured. They are:

Tipperary businesswoman Ms Clodagh Cavanagh, Managing Director of agricultural manufacturer Abbey Machinery for her contribution to Business.

U.S. based Mr Tim Kenny, originally from Kerry who co-founded the St Baldrick’s Foundation in support of childhood cancer research for his contribution to Society;

Limerick-based Mr David Jeffreys and Mr John Savage, Co-Founders of Action Point Technology Group receiving a Joint Award for their Contribution to Entrepreneurship;

Speaking at the UL Alumni Awards Gala Dinner, UL President Dr Des Fitzgerald said “Tonight’s event is very much a celebration of the achievements and contributions of four amazing people. They are imbued with the UL spirit that we all aspire to and want to preserve and propagate. The achievements of these four alumni and their contributions to their communities are models that we believe are based on the foundations they received during their time at UL. That is why I am so delighted to join with all present to celebrate Clodagh, Tim, David and John.“

The 2017 UL Alumni Awards celebration, sponsored by Bank of Ireland, took place at Limerick’s Castletroy Park Hotel, with UL alumna Juliette Gash, Senior News Correspondent with Today FM as MC.

Over 250 guests from the University, business and wider community attended this black-tie dinner which was also supported by Analog Devices Ireland, GE Capital Aviation Services (GECAS), Ronan Daly Jermyn (RDJ) Solicitors and Stryker Ireland.

Since its inception in 2006, forty  UL alumni have now been honoured including rugby legend Tony Ward, composer Patrick Cassidy, CEO & President (EMEA) of Kerry Ingredients Eoin O’Connell, former Riverdance star Jean Butler, former Chief Executive of the Kentz Corporation Dr Hugh O’Donnell, acclaimed Irish artist Alice Maher, Boeing Commercial Engineer of the Year Dr Pio Fitzgerald, former All-Ireland Kerry Footballer Pat Spillane, entrepreneur & CEO of Dairymaster Dr Edmond Harty, former Minister for the Diaspora Jimmy Deenihan, former Chief of Staff of the Irish Defence Forces, the late Lt. Gen. Dermot Earley and award-winning former Cork Camogie Captain and TV personality Anna Geary.

You are invited to read the inspiring stories behind each of the 2017 UL Alumni Award Recipients here (click on names below).

- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award -Business
- Outstanding Achievement UL Alumni Award -Society
- Outstanding Achievement Alumni Award - Entrepreneurship


To view a slideshow of images from the night, click here




(Back row l-r) Mr Diarmaid Gavin (Ronan Daly Jermyn Solicitors),  UL Alumni Chairman Mr Bobby O'Connor, Ms Maria Kelly representing the Headline Sponsor (Bank of Ireland), UL Alumna, Ms Juliette Gash from Today FM, Event MC,  UL President, Dr Des Fitzgerald,  Ms Liz Horgan (Bank of Ireland), Ms Majella O'Connell, Executive Director UL Alumni, Mr Gerard Bracken (Stryker)and Mr Mike Mulqueen (Analog Devices).  (Front row l-r) Mr David Jeffreys, Mr John Savage, Ms Clodagh Cavanagh and Mr Tim Kenny.


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal